The last show of 2016 got off to a weird start with a controversial no contest and a couple finishes. Once the main card got started the last three fights stole the show with great fights and shocking results.

Ronda Rousey vs Amanda Nunes (Women’s 135 pound title)

All eyes were on the main event for this huge comeback of an even bigger star. Rousey, who was once a complete world beater, starching opponents opponents in under a minute, got finished in 48 seconds and it wasn’t even close. Rousey looked lost from the first punch on as Amanda Nunes smashed her with straight 1-2 combos from the get go. Rousey was unable to showcase any head movement or improvement after her year layoff, and clearly wasnt ready to stand with the champion Nunes. Nunes comes out of this fight now with huge stock, keeping her emotions low and being a complete killer. Look for her to do big things at 135 and hold onto this belt for more than a little while.

Dominick Cruz vs Cody “No Love” Garbrandt (Men’s 135 pound title)


The UFC is dying for big stars, and Garbrandt is a new face for the promotion. A young brass tattooed champion who has been smashing opponents is exactly what this sport ordered. At UFC207, Garbrandt shocked many with crazy footwork, showboating and crisp boxing paired with handspeed to beat Dominick Cruz. Garbrandt was able to completely scramble off the takedowns and stay standing where crisp hooks damaged Cruz and even dropped him in the championship rounds. From unranked to champion in 2016. Oh and he set himself up for a huge grudge match with former champ and training partner TJ Dillashaw.

TJ Dillashaw vs John Lineker

Dillashaw continued his bid for another title shot with an impressive win over dangerous John Lineker. Dillashaw was able to completely outclass Lineker making him miss repeatedly and made him pay with impressive takedowns, and from there pounded Lineker for duration. Dillashaw called out for his belt in the post fight and must be itching for that fight after watching a former training partner Cody Garbrandt win the belt.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.